Help with graphics
#1 06-04-2017 
  • Registered
  • 1
  • 7
Hi, I tried using the Graphics Rule Maker for the sims 2 ultimate collection but every time i tried to run the game it would not open from then. I also tried creating my own graphics.sgr but the config log was different from the examples stickied
Log generated on 4/6/2017, 21:06

Kiri: Force Low settings because dont know vendor
=== Application info ===
Name: The Sims 2 EP9
Version: 1.17.0.66
Build: ReleaseSRT
=== Machine info ===
OS version: Windows NT 6.0
CPU: 3631.599853Mhz, Name:GenuineIntel, FPU:1, MMX:1
Memory: 1024MB
Free memory: 1024MB
User: Daryl
Computer: ASUS
=== Sound device info ===
Name: Unknown
Driver: Unknown
=== Graphics device info ===
Number: 0
Name (driver):
Name (database): <<NOT FOUND IN DATABASE!>>
Kiri: Software rendering is enabled
Vendor:
Chipset: Vendor: 0000, Device: 0000, Board: 00000000, Chipset: 0000
Driver: , Version: 0.0.0.0, GUID: D7B70EE0-4340-11CF-B063-0020AFC2CD35
Driver version: 0
Monitor: \\.\DISPLAY1
Monitor aspect: 1.780185, 16:9
Screen mode: 1366x768x32BPP,60Hz
Texture memory: 32MB
HW T&L: Fixed function:1 Programmable:3.0
Pixel program: 3.0
Texture stages: 8
AppControlledAA: 1

For reference, I have a pc which makes use of NVIDIA GeForce 750 Ti and Intel HD Graphics Family.
Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

1
#2 06-04-2017 
@Lyrad

Can you do a dxdiag for me? There's something very wrong with your config-log.txt snippet that you have there.

Please upload both the dxdiag and the full config-log.txt thanks.

0
#3 06-04-2017 
  • Registered
  • 1
  • 7
Okay, heres the config and dxdiag, thanks.

Attached File(s)
.txt  DxDiag.txt (Size: 88.88 KB / Downloads: 126)
.txt  ASUS-config-log.txt (Size: 10.2 KB / Downloads: 84)

0
#4 07-04-2017 
  • Registered
  • 1
  • 7
Note, tried re-installing sims 2 and deleting all previous documents and removing any custom content but still no changes

0
#5 08-04-2017 
@Lyrad

It's not the Sims2 game that's the problem. If you have a look at your DXDiag, you will see that there is a problem with your graphics card. So I think that the place to start is sorting that out -
"Display Tab 2: There is a problem with NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti device. For more information, search for 'graphics device driver error code 22' "

Here is how to fix the error code 22:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-au/inst...or-code-22

When you've done that - update your drivers.
Go to http://www.geforce.com/drivers and download your drivers.

Then run the dxdiag and upload it again, and we'll see if that's fixed it.

0
#6 08-04-2017 
  • Registered
  • 1
  • 7
@celebkiriedhel

Tried turning back on and updating drivers, still same issue

Attached File(s)
.txt  ASUS-config-log.txt (Size: 10.29 KB / Downloads: 71)
.txt  DxDiag.txt (Size: 90.17 KB / Downloads: 114)

0
#7 09-04-2017 
  • Registered
  • 1
  • 7
Tried disabling intel GPU on device manager and turning on sims 2 and running sims 2, got a message saying "failed to find any directx 9.0c compatible graphics adapters " and changed resolution after which got a message saying "Application has crashed, application will now terminate."

Edit: When attempting to run sims 2 with just the nvidia gpu the config log changes somewhat
.txt  ASUS-config-log.txt (Size: 10.29 KB / Downloads: 85)
(This post was last modified: 09-04-2017 06:34 AM by Lyrad.)

0
#8 09-04-2017 
@Lyrad

The game is not going to work until it can find the graphics card. If you have a look at your config-log.txt

Number: 0
Name (driver):
Name (database): <<NOT FOUND IN DATABASE!>>
Kiri: Software rendering is enabled

Where it says Name (driver) - there should be something there, not blank. The Name (database) - we can make that match.

I've checked the DXDiag, and it's missing details. Can you do a cold reset (turn your pc off, wait for 5 minutes, turn your pc on) then do a dxdiag without running anything else.

If I can't work out what's happening, what I'm going to have to do is make a graphic rules.sgr for you that will find the card. From the looks of it, the NVidia card isn't being found at all, so we'll have to make it work for the Intel.

0
#9 09-04-2017 
  • Registered
  • 1
  • 7
@celebkiriedhel

Here's the dxdiag after a cold reset, hope it can help figure out and thanks for the help

Attached File(s)
.txt  DxDiag.txt (Size: 89.96 KB / Downloads: 87)

0
#10 11-04-2017 
  • Registered
  • 1
  • 7
Not sure if this will help, but this is what the game looks like whenver I boot up a neighborhood

http://imgur.com/V0hIXBF

0

Before you post requesting help
Information we need

  1. The -config-log.txt from the Logs folder in the My Documents\EA\The Sims2\ Click "full editor" below to attach a text file.
  2. Your operating System.
  3. What the problem actually is - that will be a picture to show the problem (optional), and accompanying text files that turn up (optional), and a detailed description of what happened, and what you expected to happen.


Sorry, that is a members only option